My Great-Grandmother’s Wedding Dress

On Mother’s Day I went to my grandmother’s house with my family for dinner.  We got there a little bit early and looked through a few family photo albums.  All of the photos were wonderful.  I love hearing stories about our family history while looking through these albums.

After looking at pictures of my great-grandparents, my grandma decided to get out my great-grandmother Nana’s wedding dress.  I am so glad that she did and that she let me take a few photos.

My great-grandparents got married in July of 1928.

I instantly fell in love with the dress and all of the details that it has.  I adore most  anything with lace and I think that this is just beautiful.

I also love the black stitching on the cream fabric.

The dress has little snap closures along one side with a clasp at the waist.

I am so glad that we were able to take a look at this and listen to stories about my family.  It is amazing to me to think about the significance of this one dress.  My great-grandparents, Nana and Papa, were wonderful people that provided a great example of love and marriage.  It is incredible to look at all of my family members that I love dearly and to think that we are all here because of the love shown on the day that this dress was worn.

3 thoughts on “My Great-Grandmother’s Wedding Dress

  1. I am in love with this! There is nothing more beautiful than a vintage wedding gown (unless we are talking about the 80’s or 90’s. There was nothing beautiful about those gowns.) Cherish that dress.

Leave a comment

