Quinoa For Breakfast

Quinoa is a wonderful and versatile food.  It also happens to be an amazing source of protein.  It has a sort of nutty flavor and a little crunch to it, but can easily adapt to many dishes.  Since trying quinoa for the first time at The Wild Cow in East Nashville I have been thinking of ways to use it.  I eat it with veggies, in soup, and I put in in these black bean burgers too.

Today I chose to try it for breakfast.  It tasted great and was done in just over 5 minutes.

Here is a few pictures of the process:

My quinoa, 2% milk (use any kind you like), and blueberries

Since I was only cooking for myself, I made a very small portion.  I used 1/4 cup of (rinsed) quinoa and 1/2 cup of milk.

Combine the milk and quinoa in a small pan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer covered until nearly all of the milk is absorbed.  Since my portion was so small, this part only took 5 minutes.

This is what my quinoa looked like after the milk was absorbed.

Add brown sugar and cinnamon to your liking.  I put blueberries and a little extra milk in mine.  There are so many possibilities of things to add!

That’s all, folks.  It’s that simple.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Quinoa For Breakfast

Leave a comment

